+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: New player seeks advice on stealth souls

Default New player seeks advice on stealth souls

I'm new to Rift, coming over from SWTOR and WoW before that. I know I want to have stealth and it looks like I have a choice between Assassin and Nightblade.

At first glance it looks to me like assassin is more about poisons while nightblade is more about elemental damage at the expense of weapon damage. Does the elemental damage make up for the loss of weapon damage and poisons?

I'm planning to put most of my points into Bladedancer and take either Assassin or Nightblade for stealth. Does either offer better synergy with Bladedancer?

Thanks in advance

P.S. I suppose I should add that my focus is on PVE
    Last edited by Platostotle; 09-17-2012 at 12:55 AM.

Hellos and welcome!

To answer in a decent way I'd like to know what kind of player you are (PvPer? PvE? a bit of both? etc)
    Being a rogue myself I can tell you that if you want "unlimited" (perma) stealth you need to be deep assassin. Otherwise the stealth is a temporary one (30ish seconds - don't remember the exact duration).

in PvE the nightblade based spec (49nb/17sin/0xx) is a good choice, while the Sin one (32sin/20Rs/14mm) is good but a bit less usable (at least in the T3 of raiding, Infernal Dawn and Primeval Feast)

For PvP, I send you to read the PvP rogue guide, which has some good NB and Sin specs.

Remember however that in this game, you play a class, not only a spec. So having also ranged specs is really advised!

I edited my OP to reflect my PVE focus.

At what point do you get to switch between roles?

Level 10 me thinks (was level 10 2 years ago :P).

at 50, you can have up to 6 readly-swappable specs

Quote Originally Posted by Hargin View Post
    Level 10 me thinks (was level 10 2 years ago :P).

at 50, you can have up to 6 readly-swappable specs