+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Puandro

Thread: What is the best Ranged DPS build in your opinion.

Soulwalker

Default What is the best Ranged DPS build in your opinion.

Hi Guys,

I am new to Rift (in my first week!), but an old hand at MMO's. I normally play a hunter class or Warloc/Necro type as I love working from range with a pet. Currently, I am lvl 16 Gaurdian Marksman/Ranger/Sabotuer - but im not sure i am investing my points right, or even if this is the right combination of souls for me.
    I tried Marksman/Ranger/Assassin - but wasn't sure on this as it seemed that much of the power from Assassin came from being stealthed and attacking, which if i am fighting with a pet, I just wont be doing.
    Thing is, with my current build i am good at range - but if something gets close - im next to useless and have no close range combat moves to speak of.

Am i missing something? Maybe its in my rotations, but I am wondering if adding in something like Nightblade and removing Saboteur would help me.

Any advice?

Psinic.

Go ranger with leftover marksman 0 assassin for the extra poisin or Bladedancer for the 50% evade cooldown. Use the pig to tank for you.
    Gnarlwood - Belladonna - P50 Rogue
    Seastone - Puandro - P24 Mage
    Im here for the PvE, not the unbalanced subpar PvP.
    Just Waiting...

If you prefer pets you will be sorely disappointed in this game. I can't think of a single pet build from any calling that does comparable DPS to a non-pet build. The closest one is warriors BM build. If you like ranged DPSing ranger will work for leveling, and when you are level 50 with bad gear.

But as soon as you gear up at all you will want to go 51MM at least, and even then you will always do less DPS than melee.
    Hastati (50 warrior), Tsar (50 cleric), Tsaritsa (50 Mage)
    Guides: 51 Bladedancer, Bloodstalker, Nightblade
    DPS Rogue <Trinity>
    5/8 ID; HK Conqueror

Soulwalker