+ Reply to Thread

Thread: 2 questions about point allocation and survivability from a new player

Soulwalker

Default 2 questions about point allocation and survivability from a new player

Hi everyone. I am new to Rift. My trial has just expired and I have subbed to the game. I have some questions that I hope people will answer. I played the trial without checking the forums or any guides because I wanted to experience the game for myself first. After trying all the callings, I like rogues and mages best. I like playing characters that can survive by being sneaky - like a ninja - and resourceful. I tried various different builds and found that the blade dancer and assassin suit my style of play. After checking the forums, I see that most people add riftstalker to that to improve survivability. I tried that in a separate character and it was ok but I never made it past level 10 in the trial with any character because I wanted to try so many different ones. Is there any other soul I can add that would improve survivability? I had a BD/Sin/Sab and it was fun but I noticed that I had to use either bombs or melee attacks. I guess the synergy is poor?
    The second question is about point allocation. After checking the forums for ideas, I see that no one really mentions souls with 51 points in the them except the marksman. These are not viable? A lot of the skills awarded late in the roots look pretty good. Will I be shunned and scorned from groups if I run my blade dancer with 51 points..?
    I am not a hard core raider because of time and family limitations but I do like to try them whenever I have the chance. Do I have to run cookie-cutter builds to get in? Or are people more forgiving here? So far I have had limited interaction in the community. The public group quests are great, though. I am coming here from LotRO, which had a pretty good community, so I am hoping for something similar.
    Thank you for any help.

Default Ranged rogue