+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Talaren

Thread: When can a Rogue tank random 5 man dungeons?

Telaran

Default When can a Rogue tank random 5 man dungeons?

I am new to Rift and trying to find the tank that fits me. I love tanking 5 mans. I took a Paladin to 22 but the inability to grab AoE threat made me crazy. I have a Warrior to level 20 and it is hella fun to tank with.

But I have never even HEARD of a Rouge tank in an MMO, so it has me very interested.

If I go pure Riftstalker, will I be able to tank Realm of the Fae / Iron Tombs? Or do Rogues need to be a little higher level before they can tank randoms?

Thanks for any advice.

First off... I am not an expert on Warriors, but... Grab Reaver and put points in that for your Warrior Paladin tank. They can AoE Taunt.

For the Riftstalker, put extra points into HP boost talent for Bard or into Bladedancer for added dodge.

You should be able to tank just fine at the lower levels with Riftstalker, just keep it maxxed.
    "Yeah, I'm on a drug, it's called Charlie Sheen!"

Banned

You pretty much aren't even a tank as a rogue until you get guardian phase, so that would make level 18 the bar minimum. Not sure if t would work that well at that level, but make you you keep rift guard up always and give itr a try. It's not like it takes very long to get to level 18 in this game.

Telaran

Default Thanks

Great - thanks!

Correct. I was assuming if you were 22 Paladin and making a new Rogue and wanted to tank as a Rogue, you'd be starting around the same level so you could get Guardian Phase.
    "Yeah, I'm on a drug, it's called Charlie Sheen!"

18 is just fine to start. If you like Riftstalker, more power to you. I do. But Warrior, right "now", is the better Tank. Riftstalker is a long, tough road. Warrior will always have more options, and may always remain the best tank. So it's a tough call.

But if you stay Riftstalker, 18-50 is fine for tanking.