+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: T2 Riftstalker Tanking

Rift Disciple

Default T2 Riftstalker Tanking

So I'm fairly new to the tanking game. I had a ridiculous number of extra plaques, as I'm sure most of you do, and got a couple of T3 tanking pieces, so I figured why not and started getting the gear for it.

While there is plenty of information and tons of guides for raid tanking, I'm not finding a huge amount in the way of tanking dungeons and what I'm looking for is the most effective build for these situations.

Here's the build I'm using for T2's atm.

http://rift.zam.com/en/stc.html?t=0M...qdRkkR.x0d.xoz

I'm using bard instead of ranger (ranger is what I see in the raid builds) because of the 10% added to health, the endurance buff, and the armor buff (which I believe adds about 3% physical mitigation). All that extra hp seems too good to pass up when I'm getting spiked before all my buffs are up. I assume that bard is left behind in raid situations because you're going to have those sort of buffs covered by a bard or archon, anyway, and you get the nice 4% dmg reduction from the ranger tree. I miss having swift shot, as well, while I'm using this this build, but I find the tradeoffs to be worth it.

I'm looking for feedback from those of you who are more experienced. Is there another spec you prefer or recommend for T2's?

thats the best t2 build.

Tanking T2s as a rogue can be an exercise in frustration at times.

That said, there's nothing wrong with your build. I prefer BD/Rng precisely for the ranged builders, and I already have too much damn HP anyways. A nice trick to open a fight with a cold pull is to planar refuge -> splinter shot -> shadow assault -> 3pt guarded steel, then get rift shield up, and go about your business.

I'd suggest going 51RS/12BD/2RNG for T2's, simply because having an interrupt is better than some extra mitigation for the faceroll that T2s are. You already mitigate magic damage very well anyway.