+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Rogue first impressions from a noob

Soulwalker

Default Rogue first impressions from a noob

tldr; Overall I think Rogues are fine so far for my casual play style. I'm not sure what all the QQ is about. Is it only QQ from hardcore players? I don't want to downplay the QQ, but I just dont understand it. Please, tell me what I can expect to change as I progress. Will PvE be bad or will PvP?

This is what I've seen so far.

Well, I've been playing this game for under 2 months. Just got my first character to 50, a rogue. Got him to 50 on Friday. And to Prestige 2 on Saturday. Here is how I play him.

PvE: I leveled up doing 90% dungeons. I was annoyed with queue times early on as I started as a DPS rogue. So then I switched to bard and my queue times dropped tremendously! 90% of the games I was bard and the other 10% I was sabo DPS spec.
    I got to 50 and I skipped over T1. I've done a couple of T2s. One as bard and one as sabatour. But the bard game, I went sab for thrash pulls and only bard for boss pulls. The tank had a DPS parser and said I was #1 for most pulls that involved aoe. And within 100-200 dps on single targets. So not bad at all for a fresh 50 with mostly lvl 43-48 blues.
    In the future I'll probably play mostly DPS rogue, since pve queues are much faster now. I see no problem in being #1 dps for t2 and master mode dungeons.

PvP: Leveling up, PvP as a bard was phenomenal. Almost always #1 healer and a winning record when I played solo. When I played with a warrior friend, we won about 90% of the time.