+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: riftstalker,, good tank or just a fun idee?

Soulwalker

Default riftstalker,, good tank or just a fun idee?

hey everyone,,

i started playing like a month ago and really like the idee of a riftstalker tank, just the problem is i hear alot of sounds saying it isnt that good for tankin.. my qeustion: is riftstalker anything of a tank on high levels, comparing with a warior tank or is it just to squishy?

I think it's more of a problem with maintaining agro management then it is being squishy. I have no real opinions since I haven't tried tanking with my rogue but from what I understand it's just harder to maintain control of mobs.

Soulwalker

Riftstalker is the only soul in the rogue class capable of tanking. I run a Riftstalker/ Bladedancer/ Bard build and find it fun to play. For the record rogues can tank anything a Warrior or Cleric can with the only caveat being we do take some more damage since we cannot get nearly as much armor compared to the other two.

One thing to note is right now we do not have many AoE taunts/attacks to grab aggro. Makes multi-mob pulls a bit of pain. However, it is still very doable.

I am lvl 50 and currently tanking for Raids along with T2s for my other guildes. Whomever has said it is not possible does not know what they are talking about.

Shadowlander

Sigh, this again...

Every so often someone who never tanked as a riftstalker decides to come in and ask if RS can tank... and then a bunch of people who don't know, say they don't know but don't think so...

http://unstablerift.com/?q=node/171

Read, learn, and most of all have fun.

RS is currently one of the most effective endgame tanks, RS has not had aoe aggro issues since last patch's increase to threat on Rift Disturbance.

A big part is the player, RS requires more interaction from the player to survive, but once you know how to tank with one, they're great.