+ Reply to Thread

Thread: My Rogue observations, PvP and PvE, (LONG)

Default My Rogue observations, PvP and PvE, (LONG)

MY BACKGROUND: PVE-wise in RIFT, I've only done T2s, I haven't begun Greenscale yet. I've got plenty of PvE raid experience in other games, including server-first level stuff in my most recent MMO. PVP-wise, I've done pvp using bard/ranger, ranger/marksman, full marksman, nightblade mixes, and a riftstalker runner's build. I am not a "pro" pvp'er by any means - honestly I think I'm in the 75th percentile, skill-wise. I'm around rank 2.5, which I realize is nothing in this game, however I have a good amount of experience pvp'ing in another popular mmo's battlegrounds (rank 14 in vanilla as a melee, and tons of pvp as a ranged). I'm telling you this because it's helpful to know the background of the writer, PVE or PVP, since some concepts are the same from game to game.

And so, here are my Rogue observations, in no particular order:

DPS. PvE Rogue DPS (and PvP, for that matter) is simply not as high as the other callings. This means that any group of 5 containing 2 rogues automatically starts off behind the eight ball. That means it's harder for rogues to get into groups, which sucks. Cleric DPS is higher than Rogue DPS? To quote our good friend Willy Wonka: "Strike that, reverse it".