+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Another lazy bard complaining about Motifs and an idea.

Soulwalker

Default Another lazy bard complaining about Motifs and an idea.

I know there is some disagreement on Motifs. Either they are good as they are or they are too much clicking. I come somewhere in the middle.

I played a bard in Everquest, and Rift does not come close to the maintenance requirement of bards from that game, so that is good. However, the tapping of five keys over five seconds (longer for lazy players like me) is not really fun. I really enjoy the bard class. It is entertaining, survivable and useful. The only detriment is the lackluster way Motifs are used.

I am no expert on Rift, but I have played a great many games and I play them for the fun. If I can find a class like the bard that I enjoy and increase the enjoyment by removing the tedium, I call that a win. Now, I can look at using an expensive keyboard to solve my issue, but is this really the right solution? Or should there be a game mechanic that fits both the vision of the developer and the ease of use of lazy players like me? I like the second choice.

Here is my idea: Add a finisher to the bard somewhere after the 28 point mark. For one combo point, it casts/refreshes Motif of Bravery. For two points, Bravery and Focus. Three: Bravery, Focus and Regeneration, Four: Bravery, Focus, Regeneration and Tenacity. Five: Bravery, Focus, Regeneration, Tenacity and Grandeur. Now, a bard can still keep up with Motifs through normal casting, or they can devote their combo points to maintaining buffs as a trade-off.

Once again, I like the Bard class, and I want to maintain my enjoyment. I hope this post is not seen as a complaint. While there are some balance issues with Rift, Trion has made a game that I thoroughly enjoy. Please keep up the good work, Trion.

Please offer your constructive comments about this.

imho, bard is fine.