+ Reply to Thread

Thread: mage or cleric? New player with some questions

Telaran

Default mage or cleric? New player with some questions

I just started playing and made a mage. Which seems very weak in terms of surviving. My question to you guys is which is best mate leveling pve spec and from 20 on which spec does well in warfronts? I am not big on pyro because they seem like the typical glass cannon I like a little survivability in there. So my question is:

1-is cleric better as a whole survival wise and dps?
    2- does mage do better when they get higher?
    3- how is mage tank die pve and pvp?im on prime and was wondering if I should save up and unlock the soul for mage? Please let me know. Was thinking about rerolling my lowbie mage and making a cleric due to me having a rogue on prime already and only allowed 2 slots. Thanks.

Plane Touched

Mage is physically the weakest class.. well since it's a mage and wears cloth armor. The whole premise about mage is to be weak physically. But if you play the right spec it has probably the best soloing specs in the game. With the combination of chloro/harb and their synergy. The pair does really well together. However, until you get harb you can do chloro/sc/ele or chloro/sc/necro specs for survivability and some damage. Sc is stormcaller and is an aoe soul. So chloro for healing and stormcaller for aoe damage.

http://forums.riftgame.com/rift-prim...her-stuff.html

You can try this guide. It's more for 50. The one below used in conjunction with the one above should help you for leveling.

http://forums.riftgame.com/rift-prim...cer-guide.html

http://forums.riftgame.com/rift-prim...ling-mage.html

1. As for a comparison between mage in cleric, it's hard to tell dps wise but pyro is the second top damaging soul from pts tests at level 50. And druid is top.

Survivability wise, mage is better than cleric.