+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Controller mage?

Soulwalker

Default Controller mage?

Hello everyone!

I'm pretty new to the game, having been trying different characters for about a week. I'm looking for some help because, while I generally like "controller" style characters, and it seems like in Rift, the Dominator is supposed to be the quintessential controller. However, I feel like the Dominator is.. well.. lacking. Only one pre-set uses Dominator and that pre-set doesn't actually put any points into it, which makes me fear that the soul is just trash. Meanwhile, dominator centered guides seem to be rare, and those that exist seem to focus on PvP (while I plan on doing PvP, I mostly do PvE). I would like to play a controller style mage, but I need help on some fun controller builds

So what exactly is wrong with the Dominator for me? Well.. firstly I get sick of spamming Neural Prod, but that seems to be the only spammable Dominator ability. With a powerset full of instant cast, long cooldowns.. what is a Dominator supposed to use as a "filler"? Secondly, The Dominator seems extremely under-damaged.. It's the only mage class I've played where I can start attacking an enemy at max range and I actually get hit before the enemy dies.. and that's on low level basic mobs, after I get increased range.. I don't even want to talk about how useless I feel in Intrepid Adventures. So I guess what I'm saying is controller builds with decent damage output and that allow me to actually be doing something at all times would be most appreciated, but honestly I'd like to hear/try any control builds that people consider to be fun.

Thank you

Telaran

yes, dominator indeed is super underpowered. It's only real use in raids was the ability to drain the boss' mana/energy. Since Trion removed that mechanic from the game (due to annoyance in PVP) there is no real use for it in PVE except for some key abilities on certain bosses (Singletarget Reflect, AoE Reflect,..)