+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Some mage questions

Shadowlander

Default Some mage questions

Ok, I mainly have two questions here...
    I recently started playing, and tried both cleric and mage, trying different trees.. In the end I ended up with mage using two purposes from the templates. Now this is just for leveling/beginning of the game, later on I will probably use a somewhat different distribution of stats, but the templates works well for leveling and learning the class/game.

So I use Sage template and the other one is Stormcaller build (don't recall exact name). I like them both for different purposes. I like playing healer, but I also like to change to dps from time to time, so this purpose switching in Rift is great! So this leads to my next two questions.. (Ignore the exact stat distribution for now, I'm mainly interested in the main tree lines).

1. Chloromancer as healer, is it viable or must I play cleric as a healer? Because at the moment I like healing from Chloro more than playing healer as cleric..

2. I've heard that Stormcaller tree isn't much used (I also wonder why not?). Personally I like it. But would you rather suggest an other DPS tree as a mage? Mainly for dungeon and AoE.

I haven't played low lvl mage in a long time...

Chloro is great, but gets much better at higher lvls.

Stormcaller is almost non-existent in end-game pvX atm. It all depends on your lvl though. I would give some version of harbinger a go. Melee/survivability is good. All specs have their strengths/weaknesses depending on your lvl and play style.

Champion

Chloromancer is a viable healer but it's pretty tough to heal dungeons with until 51. That's when you get an ability called void life which heals for extra on your synthesis target. After 51 chloro is viable pretty much anywhere. The main chloro weakness is a lack of spike healing/cooldowns but the overall healing output is high enough that it's not an issue most of the time.