+ Reply to Thread

Thread: New Mage - Looking for some help!

Default New Mage - Looking for some help!

As per title, and the post count you can see that I'm new to Rift, wasn't sure if to post here or in the Newcomers section but as this was the Mage area thought best to post here, so sorry if wrong section.

The question I have and hopefully some help is the following;

I'm currently a lvl30 Mage, have been using "Xeno's EZ 51 Warlock Guide." so far which I find very good for my game play, which is mostly solo at the moment, enjoy questing, not done any Dungeons as yet as still getting use to everything. One reason I enjoy the questing side of the game is getting to know the different areas and how things work.

I'm looking for a build that can cater for the following, able to solo most quests and later stage questing when at 50, good STD, AoE and Healing, I have found the build I have been playing has some if not all of these so far to a degree. But wondering is there a build out there can help me better achieve how I play at present, or wait till higher level and swap builds?

Any help or advise would be very much appreciated.
    Smierc - Mage (Icewatch Server)

The game plays very differently at level 50 and certain builds become more or less viable than while leveling as you gear up. Generally the most effective soloing builds at level 50 contain Chloromancer for self-healing and increased health. I solo with 34/32 Chlorolock as it also has the health boost from Warlock as well as Shadow Life and Neddra's Essence. But there are more effective soloing builds that combine Chloro with Pyro and/or Stormcaller to do a lot more damage. This requires you to have decent gear however because your healing from Chloro is based on your damage, so at a low gear level you won't be able to heal yourself enough.