+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Chloro and Opportunity question

Default Chloro and Opportunity question

I recently picked up my mage alt again and have been running him through normal dungeons to level. My build is more or less one of the leveling builds from Brown's Chloromancer encyclopaedia.

My normal play-style is to spam Vile Spores unless Opportunity procs and then I use Nature's Touch. However it seems that my opportunity proc is being consumed by an insta-cast Vile Spores unless I actually pause for about 1/4 of a second between casts. I use a short queue for spells.

I then tried this in a pyro build and it doesn't seem to perform the same way, i.e., I can get off my insta- Cinder Burst rather than having it used for an insta-fireball.

Given that Vile Spores and Fireball are both bolt spells and it seems that Opportunity procs on the cast I don't understand why I'm failing to make use of it on chloro versus pyromancer.

I'm new to mage compared to rogue so I will definitely put in the investigation time but I thought it couldn't hurt to acquire further informed opinion.

Quote Originally Posted by Zazen View Post
    I recently picked up my mage alt again and have been running him through normal dungeons to level. My build is more or less one of the leveling builds from Brown's Chloromancer encyclopaedia.

My normal play-style is to spam Vile Spores unless Opportunity procs and then I use Nature's Touch. However it seems that my opportunity proc is being consumed by an insta-cast Vile Spores unless I actually pause for about 1/4 of a second between casts. I use a short queue for spells.

I then tried this in a pyro build and it doesn't seem to perform the same way, i.e., I can get off my insta- Cinder Burst rather than having it used for an insta-fireball.

Given that Vile Spores and Fireball are both bolt spells and it seems that Opportunity procs on the cast I don't understand why I'm failing to make use of it on chloro versus pyromancer.