+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Returning mage...Feeling overwhelmed.

Rift Disciple

Default Returning mage...Feeling overwhelmed.

Hello everyone.

I started playing Rift in Beta, unfortunately I've had to take several breaks from the game due to either crappy computers/internet, or real life stuff.

The last time I played Rift was in January. I was juuuust starting HK, but honestly I was a tad undergeared even then. Now I'm returning and feeling pretty overwhelmed; what do I do first? wow I forgot about that spell! jeez, this build is outdated, wtf is this new mark for?

Hell, I just queue'd up for an Expert and realized it was entirely possible I'd get thrown in an instance that wasn't even around last time I played (idk if there's any new ones since ember isle).

So here I am on the mage forums looking for some advice.

As a returning mage what should I do to get myself back in sync with the game? If it helps, here are my stats in PvE gear:

687 Int
    1458 Spellpower
    999 spell cirt (1 short...really??)
    383 Focus
    108 water resist (rest of them suck)

So, what do you guys think I would be able to run? Which marks should I get from the Expert dungeons? Is it even worth stockpiling the Tier 3 marks, or should I continue my T2 set first? What build should I run?

Any and all advice is totally welcome and appreciated.
    I don't think. I don't feel. I don't laugh or cry. All I do from dusk till dawn is make Guardian soldiers die.

I'd be going for the Greater Marks of Ascension. especially if you don't have 4/4 HK set yet.

Infernal marks you earn at the same rate through dungeons and weekly raids, but the items are about 60% more expensive. eg, Nyx's gloves are 50 GMOA, Infernal Gloves are 80 infernal marks. The jump from nyx's set to infernal is also relatively low. I think i worked it out at something like 63sp being gained going from my half set of nyx's relics to infernal epics. So not insignificant, but not massive.