+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Noob in training question

Shadowlander

Default Noob in training question

My Main is a warrior, but I find myself now leveling my mage.

I'm currently at lvl 26 and spend most of my time doing normal dungeons.

Of course I have a chloro spec to allow me to heal and get a quicker time in the queue.

Now granted, I am new to a mage, and am still learning chloro; But, I find my self running into a lot of very squishy tanks( mostly rouges). My question is, how can I tell if the tank is just too squishy for the normal and there is nothing I can do, or that I am just a total fail chloro and cannot meet the HPS requirements?

Also, things seem to level out more if I can get past the first 5 seconds of a fight. Is there something I can do to help myself heal better in that initial burst of damage?

Shadowlander

A small problem is that many folks treat the beginning dungeons like the experts where you can zerg the mobs. This is possible in experts because everyone is way overgeared but not so in the beginning dungeons. This is why the tanks seem squishy - it's because they are. You will want some support heals in the form of another chloro, cleric icar or bard.

A decent healing spec at L26 might be: http://rift.zam.com/en/stc.html?t=0zRvz.xdIuo.xb.-7. What you want to do is:
    1 - set focus on the tank
    2 - target the tank
    3 - be sure you have cast on target of target set

I have simple "target" and "target @focus" macros to be certain I'm always casting on the tanks target. You're main macro at your level is:
    #show Nature's Touch
    suppressmacrofailures
    cast ruin
    cast Nature's Touch
    cast vile spores
    cast dark touch