+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Stormcaller questions

Soulwalker

Default Stormcaller questions

Hey there. I'm relatively new to Rift and brand spanking new to mages. I'm intrigued by the Stormcaller soul and would very much like to become an effective mage, but all the soul builder guides I've been directed to say that the soul is complete trash and should be ignored at all costs.

Can anyone point me in the direction of a reliable mage builder site or offer some pointers?

Is Stormcaller really that big a waste of space?

Those guides are wrong if they think stormcaller is a waste of space. It might be in 1.6 but as of right now, they're pretty great for AE and ST dps.

They might say it's trash because the rotations are pretty hard. I'll go look for the links to builds and rotations for you. I'm sure if you look around you'll find some too. I don't know if bluedot has an up to date stormcaller rotation on his site(By up to date I mean with hailstorm included in the ST rotation). But I know bluedot's site is a good place to start.

FT 4/4(Conq) EE 5/5(Conq)ToDQ 4/4(Conq) HM 4/4 IDH 4/4 GA 4/4 IG 3/3 PB 1/5

Default hmm

Bluedot says Stormcaller/Elementalist is the single best AoE and Single Target damage build, and you can use either whenever you need them. A waste of space? I don't think so.

The way I play Stormcaller (Stormcaller/Elementalist, for mana regen/Chloro, for healing) is to have all the AoE spalls on the left side of my action bars in a cluster, and all the Single Target spells on the right side in a cluster. The middle cluster are shields, armors, heals, and mana regen.

Then all my support, buff, rez, etc spells are on the bottom row action bar.

This has been an immensely fun way to PvP for me. Port Scion has been great with this build and layout, considering most of the time most of the enemy team are all in a small group, making the AoE's very effective. If I see someone try to escape the area, I can pick them off with my Single Target abilities.