+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Is macroing pet abilities still a dps increase?

Champion of Telara

Default Is macroing pet abilities still a dps increase?

I ran out of macro slots, and am wondering if I still need to macro pet abilities (forcing me to have a separate macro for each spell and each pet).
    I am a lawyer in real life, but I try to roleplay an honorable character ;)

The reason you macro pet abilities is because there is a tiny delay between the time a pet ability comes off cooldown and when the pet AI causes him to use it again.
    There has been no mention of a fix/change to this and it is still occurring on the PTS, so I would say yes.

Actually, as of the last update, I had to unmacro my zealot pet. It would constantly spam that the abilities could not be found. Maybe they changed the macro syntax? Or maybe its just me. Anyway, the dps was more or less the same (actually 3dps more) and I now have some free slots.
    Bisqquit | R53

Also took them out since last patch.

Ascendant

Quote Originally Posted by TheLithium View Post
    Actually, as of the last update, I had to unmacro my zealot pet. It would constantly spam that the abilities could not be found. Maybe they changed the macro syntax? Or maybe its just me. Anyway, the dps was more or less the same (actually 3dps more) and I now have some free slots.
    It happens to me also... really annoying. But usually relogging fixes it.

Last I checked though, there was still some time before the time the ability was up and when it was used.

I generally just remove my general channel from the ones I normally keep an eye on, so i don't see the error spam :P, helps when using a spec in overworld with a different pet out too.

Rift Disciple