+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Mage Support Builds

Default Mage Support Builds

Hi guys, I'm just starting out on Rift and so far very much like the option to play a support role. However I'm somewhat unsure as to the priority of my tasks. I know that I could/should do

-Buffs
    -Debuffs
    -Healing
    -Damage

to some extents. Often enough I see healers mentioning they have no interest in my healing capabilities, which would be a reason to focus more on the other 3 aspects. Those can be well covered with a 51 Archon build and off points in 10 Dom / 5 Ele for more damage or 15 Chloro for some minor degree of healing. But just as often I'm just running a full Archon build when some mobs add or whatever happens and the extra healing would have saved the group, which makes me want to pack some sort of healing power into a support build "just in case".

So I'm wondering if it would be viable to play something along the lines of 3x/3x Archon Chloro as a supporter. I have seen the aforementioned combo as a healing spec prior to the LGV/LBV changes, but ever since that change it's pretty obvious 51 Chloro is the way to go for a healing spec.
    In the Archon tree, the build loses out on:
    -Burning Purpose and the associated +4% dmg, -2% cast time, -4% mana cost
    -Lingering Dust, which in a 51 build would be negated by BP
    -Surging Flare and its 5% cast speed buff with 60% uptime (in a perfect world)

Instead it gains the option to cast Chloro damage spells for aoe healing, the "normal" Chloro healing spells minus Natural Healing and some nice utility such as ressing, infight Res, Living Essence's -10% mana cost and Living Shell.
    Ofc I would use the Archon spells for a damage-oriented rotation and only switch to Chloro spells when the need arises. It seems to me the losses in Archon are quite minor as opposed to the gains. So my question is would such a build make sense from a supporter's point of view? I'm talking about 5-mans here, not raiding.