+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Is it about the Range?

Ascendant

Default Is it about the Range?

I'll just start off by saying I don't consider myself a great PvPer. I go after marked targets. I pick someone who seems competent and target their targets. But by and large I'm still learning to read the confusion that is PvP, and sometimes get flustered when trying to figure out what to hit next. I only just hit r4 this morning.

A lot of people have been complaining about Mage damage output, lack of hard defense, and difficulty kiting. The thing I'm running up against, though, while playing endless WFs to complete Trion's beloved prestige grind, is positioning because of range.

Theoretically, the squishies are supposed to stay on the back line, right? We're not supposed to let attackers close distance with us.

That's great, except as DPS, we're supposed to be targetting the other guys' back line, because, as everyone likes to repeat, you need to kill the healers, or you can't kill the people they are healing. So where does that put us?

The healing clerics can stay back far enough to keep their front line on the edges of their healing range. That means to engage them, we have to stand on top of their melees, who quickly destroy us. Rogues have a little bit of extra range, so they can try to stay away from melees yet keep the healers in their sites.

Is the difficulty of playing a mage as simple as "kite the melees" and "focus the healers" are mutually exclusive mandates?

Or, it occurs to me, is this just a matter of needing to use flanking more often? Not terribly useful if the mage is the only one running around the outside, because you end up an obvious target out all alone?
    The Roguepocalypse is upon us!

dont go for the clerics , clerics are die-hard. Better go for warriors/rogues. All you need is another warrior to apply 50% heal debuff on your targets.