+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: new to game, is it true

Soulwalker

Default new to game, is it true

hello, im new to this game , bought it 7/1. i was leveling a mage(19) becuase i like the idea of a high dps magic class.

i learned though the general chat on my server that the mage class is actualy bottom rung for dps, is this true?

if so what class would be a good pick if dps is my first desire?

There is still some debate on just how badly mages fall short on dps among the different callings (some of it can be attributed to differences among players, but, I admit, not all).

However, whoever occupies King of the Bottom of dps usually changes patch to patch, so it may likely change by the time you hit 50 (or not).

All I will say for certain, is as a mage, you will have to hit a couple more buttons (usually) to deal dps to your highest potential than those other callings.

There are still mages out their holding their own in dps, and my hope is with the release of Hammerknell, we will climb up a bit on the ladder, due to the higher tier of gear, and the fact that spellpower scales better than attack power.

If you want to know a little bit more about the end game specs that tend to be popular here, some people made some good guides. Check out Bluedot's, for example (www.bluedots.org). I won't say take what he writes as bible, but the dude seems to have a clue.
    Last edited by LemmingOfEvil; 07-04-2011 at 11:17 AM.
    Experience debt is merely a gauge to show how much Awesome I'm generating.

Play what you feel is the most fun for you. If you go by what the flavor of the month is or what the "cool kids" are doing you will always feel as if your missing out on something, since you might be playing a class that is not really what you want. In the end the four classes have a million ways that they can be played and that is the beauty of RIFT.