+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Could use some help with an elementalist build (Level 30)

Soulwalker

Default Could use some help with an elementalist build (Level 30)

Right now my build really makes no sense... I'm new to this game and not really sure what's better than what.

I'm leveling slow and I'm sure there's a better way to do this. This is what I'm using now.

http://rift.zam.com/en/stc.html?t=0zqys.xthzRTkhz.Vu

The only reason I have Dominator is for Transmogrify so I can CC if needed. I don't know why I have stormcaller, the game said I should have it but the only spell from that tree I find myself using is Arctic Blast for AOE and Electrocute to finish off an enemy at low health.

I typically do the same thing regardless if I'm in a group or soloing.

Send Pet in
    Lightning Strike
    Exposure
    Ignite
    Crystalline Missiles Spam
    Refresh Ignite and Exposure as needed
    Lightning Strike when it comes off cooldown

Of course I use some AOE abilities if there's 3+ mobs (Burning Ground / Arctic Blast / Fiery Assault)

Now I really like Elementalist and I really like how well my pet can tank. I've solo'd every elite quest I've had so far by just sending my pet in, letting it get aggro, healing it, and then slowly DPS'ing while continuing to heal my pet with Quicken Elements

So what can you guys suggest for me?

Rift Disciple

My first char to 50 was an Elementalist.. not sure what you mean by "slow" - I thought it was crazy easy. I would add Icy Carapace to your rotation, and I gave up on Ignite. Exposure is only a net gain on long fights. Other than that you're not doing anything wrong.
    refugee from Corthana and Byriel

Soulwalker

Well by slow I mean it took me over a week to get to 20 yet a friend started a rogue and was 25 in 2 days. Last night I played for about 3 hours and went from 29 to 30. It just seems like things are moving slow for me like I'm not killing fast enough or something.