+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Made a mage.. So many buttons.. freakin' out.

Soulwalker

Default Made a mage.. So many buttons.. freakin' out.

I'm still new to the game, so bear with me here.

I made a mage, and so far I'm on my third soul, but there's so many frigging abilities I can use! Not to mention the massive talent trees that there are for each soul. Right now I'm using Warlock, Archon, and Necromancer, since the combo seemed good.

What should I put the majority of my points in to? Which spells should I use? There's so many for each spec that it feels like I should be using all of them, but it does'nt quite feel right. Suggestions?

Rift Master

Ahhh ya, if you take multiple souls you do get a lot of skills.

Here's how you can start organizing.
    Anything you might use out of combat, put those in one clump.
    That means you won't look at them unless that moment arises.

Any of your instant skills like dots - put those all in a line, those are your on the move panic but still need dmg outlets.

All the skills that could save you - put those together, things that might heal or reduce dmg or cc an enemy etc.

Then you have your line of casting/spamming skills, these are the enemy debuffs, any in combat buffs you have. Then you can go thru them only when you feel comfortable to increase your dmg because you have the fight under control. These are the skills you would test as you go, does it feel right using here or there. These are the ones you can end up adjusting their placement and get yourself a rotation that you like.

This way you will only have a clump of skills at once to view until you memorize what you like and can move them around later.

Don't forget to put water on the bar, that makes it easy to drink in a pinch.
    Others will have more advice I'd imagine but that will get you started.
    I'm not using the soul calculator to suggest a build to you specifically.
    Last edited by Fernt; 03-20-2011 at 05:13 PM.