+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Am I doing it wrong? DPS in PvE

Soulwalker

Default Am I doing it wrong? DPS in PvE

Hi all,

First off - let me say that I could be a total newb. I'm a long-time MMO vet. but tend to be PvP focused, and min-maxing for PvE is not my thing.

That being said, I've been struggling to increase my DPS for T2 dungeons. I've tried numerous specs - archon, pyro, SC, etc. Best I can manage so far has been about 450dps on a training dummy with Chloro, and 610dps using a Necrolock with the rogue pet.

What am I doing wrong? My stats are decent - I have a good mix of t1 epic pieces and t1 blue items - currently SP 725 and 395 CRIT and 131 FOCUS.

Should I be parsing higher in Necrolock? It's pretty much ez mode over a 2 minute rotation - throw up a life leech, keep necrosis and DT up, apply looming demise when needed, rotate in grave rots, spam void bolt to keep LL applied, and when you feel like it pop lich form / sac health for damage / empty the crypts.

What could I be doing to parse higher? Is there another spec I should be trying? I'm tired of elitist ***-h@ts that form t2 pugs and want to parse me before joining the group, coz warriors and rogues will do +200 dps over me.

Champion of Telara

Quote Originally Posted by Excelsias View Post
    What could I be doing to parse higher?
    The easy answer is to play a Warrior.

The hard answer is that there is np great way to increase your dps as a Mage. You are doing the right things, trying many specs, parsing the dummies, etc. From what I have seen and heard, 610 is not terrible for a Mage in mostly T1 gear.

What builds and rotations are you using for the various specs?
    Last edited by Brad1959; 03-19-2011 at 06:42 AM.
    I am a lawyer in real life, but I try to roleplay an honorable character ;)

Champion

Sounds about right.