+ Reply to Thread

Thread: why do clerics need at least one heal spell in every build?

Rift Disciple

Default why do clerics need at least one heal spell in every build?

Hi,

So I am new to clerics and am almost convinced I will play them but the only question I have is why are we so fixated on having at least one heal spell? It seems in every build no matter if it is PvE or PvP, it seems imperative to grab at least one heal spell or have in some defensive abilities.

I see the need for a healing spell in solo leveling or solo PvP but if I play in a group or raid, I feel that a pure dps shammy build will be able to hang with the rest. We won't have to drop any points in heals because thats where people that play the healing roles come in. I understand that "clerics" should be healers first and foremost but not every single one HAS to. And now with the rumored leaked notes, specc'ing in one tree without spending in others will give you even more of a dmg boost.

I feel that clerics as a whole are still set upon the ability to heal one self but we are sacrificing huge dps in the process. I come from playing a mage "from the game whom must not be named," and I enjoyed dps'ing like crazy when I was alive but I also died a lot. However, it was perfectly possible to do well and be successful with a squishy build so I think this will be possible as a cleric.

This is the true beauty, at least I hope for a cleric. There are radical, moderate, and conservative approaches to dps/tanking/healing and is the reason why I will most likely roll one.

So in conclusion, I urge us as a class to make sure that in end game we can dps like hell if we spec the right way (and yes, sacrifice healing in the process, I am not asking to be overpowered).