+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Defiler Debunked (Rift Noob Here)

Soulwalker

Default Defiler Debunked (Rift Noob Here)

Could someone please explain to me ( or link me to an explanation ) the mechanics behind the defiler links? I'm feeling very dense, by not understanding the links.

I like the idea of the defiler, because it's a healer with a taunting pet. I'd love to play the druid like that, but you have to invest so many points to get the better pets, you have too few in the other healing trees to be effective at healing.

Let me also mention that I'm not raiding, or even running dungeons. I'm mid 20's in level, and I like to run small groups of 2 or 3 (thus my fondness of hybrid characters). I also like to pop into Instant Adventures, and you never know what you're going to get there. Perhaps that's why I'm not understanding the links. I can't fathom why you would want the healer to intentionally take damage.

Thanks for the info.

Quote Originally Posted by CajunLanMan View Post
    I can't fathom why you would want the healer to intentionally take damage.
    Because it means that less damage is taken by the tank. Reducing the damage that the tank takes by 30% is incredibly powerful when you're dealing with bosses that do high burst damage.

Not to mention that the links reduce the damage that's intercepted, and what little does get through is absorbed by Husk of Indifference, meaning that you almost never lose any health.

Also, for future reference, questions like this should go in the Cleric Discussion forum. The guides forum is for guides.

Shadowlander

Defiler isn't a healer, per se.

Defiler is a support class. They support their team by absorbing a certain % of damage from the targets of their links.

Mainly, you cast your links on the tanks and healers of your group (or people with really low HP). Later in the tree you get a shield which absorbs all the damage you take from the links and the shield gets refreshed every time you use a healing skill.