+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree3Likes
  • 3 Post By Nizael

Thread: And adventuring through these Rift forums...

Telaran

Default And adventuring through these Rift forums...

Err sorry for this kind of post. Really i'm trying to avoid it but it's a question that i'll only feel answered when someone comes and answers it with arguments that i could consider solid. Although i'm a newbie player, i'm pretty aware that this patch gave clerics the oportunity to compete in the DPS department with the mages. And yes, while my first toon was a mage (and he is still there) i'm still wondering: Why so much QQ about cleric buffs?
    No i'm not being sarcastic, i'm being serious, why?
    During the time i played mage i found eveything someone would want but a tank, look:

1 - Chloromancer

A condensed soul for healing that, in adition to healing, can contribute to the party DPS.

2 - Pyromancer, Warlock, Necromancer and Harbinger

4 souls that do have a lot of potential for Single Target DPS (not to mention Necro utility with that shield and the pet)

3 - Necromancer and Stormcaller

2 souls that do have great aoe potential

So lets see: mages have a condensed healing tree and decent DPS for all the situations... Oh and i forgot to add that they can suport :P

Before this patch, what i only could think of clerics was something like this:

They have all their healing potential spread through 3 trees.
    They can't be competitive in the DPS department.

And after this, i saw the light at the very end of the tunnel for the DPS department (also, about their healing potential being spread thorugh 3 trees, who cares? all of them are needed in a raid anyway :P)

So i looked at the patch notes, and what i saw, at least on the PVE side was DPS balance.
    I would like to know what exactly is making them the OP thing many people are talking.
    I should also remember that i'm still new to the game and you can correct absolutely anything that is wrong in my post.