+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Am I ready to start tanking experts?

Default Am I ready to start tanking experts?

I dont want to talk in and get 3 shot by a trash mob. Here is my stats all self buffed:

HP: 34,930
    Armor: 54,108
    Toughness: 350
    Hit: 357
    Block 1788
    Parry 1282
    Dodge: 735
    All resists 1722+

I'm not sure if I am scared to enter experts as tank or what. I have been tanking in MMOs for over 4 years, but theres something about Rift tanking that makes me uneasy. Am I good with those stats? What should I aim to improve. Most tanks have 40k+ hp when i do experts as DPS. Any advice would be appreciated, thanks in advance.
    There is 3 kinds of people in the world: Those who can count and those who can't.

Sounds good to me. I forget what the tough min is for experts though. You need to get that. Otherwise I have successfully healed plenty of tanks with similar stats in experts. First room in EC is kinda sucky though, be sure to blow your CDs and maybe wait for them to come off CD before each pull if needed.

minimum toughness is 300, im fine with that, but i feel like my hp is too low. Most tanks I see have 40k+ and idk how to get that high.
    There is 3 kinds of people in the world: Those who can count and those who can't.

Plane Walker

Your HP does seem kind of low for that amount of armor. Are you using the standard 61 Justicar/6 Shaman/6 Inquisitor? And are you using an updated tank sigil? And is your gear runed?

Well tried my first expert. Wiped 3x on the first boss in tower of the shattered. Got told to get more hp. Really depressing. I've never had a issue with tanking in any game like I do with Rift.

Quote Originally Posted by Suffer View Post
    Well tried my first expert. Wiped 3x on the first boss in tower of the shattered. Got told to get more hp. Really depressing. I've never had a issue with tanking in any game like I do with Rift.
    Are you sure you're using Mein of Leadership?