+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Question about tanking

Soulwalker

Default Question about tanking

In another thread it mentions the use of our healing/dps gear while tanking dungeons. That seems well and good, except for the need for toughness. I started playing in Oct and I am part of a small guild. We don't have the means to run raids, even in the old world content. How do I get tanking gear being in the early 50's?

You don't need toughness until expert level.

dbe
    General of Telara

Quote Originally Posted by Pork Star View Post
    You don't need toughness until expert level.
    Not only that, it took me 3 pieces of pre-expert tank gear to get 275 toughness. That's with no runes.

Plane Walker

Quote Originally Posted by dbe View Post
    Not only that, it took me 3 pieces of pre-expert tank gear to get 275 toughness. That's with no runes.
    That doesn't sound right. 3 pieces of pre-expert tank gear should only give you 225, seeing as it is 75 toughness per piece, 4 pieces. 100 toughness gear is expert-equivalent gear.

yea, but there are a ton of pre-expert pieces that drop w\ 100 toughness. (I've gotten 2 from world events )
    Beta Participated: SW:TOR, RIFT,EQ2:SF, EQ2:TSO, AoC, STO, GW, RO
    Veteran of: SWTOR, AOC (again), STO, EQ2, LOTRO, WAR, AoC, Van, DAoC, CoH, WOW, GW, Lin2, SWG, Lin1, AO, RO, EQ, UO, Medievia

dbe
    General of Telara

Quote Originally Posted by Golladan View Post
    That doesn't sound right. 3 pieces of pre-expert tank gear should only give you 225, seeing as it is 75 toughness per piece, 4 pieces. 100 toughness gear is expert-equivalent gear.
    As the other guy said, some pieces have 100. One of them I got was a world drop.

Conversely, I just got a purple drop from the last boss of Expert Emp that only had 75.
    Last edited by dbe; 12-02-2012 at 02:05 PM.

Plane Walker