+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Like Tree8Likes

Thread: Pure Healers vs DoL: Why are clerics being punished for healing dedication?

Default Pure Healers vs DoL: Why are clerics being punished for healing dedication?

With the advent of 1.5 and changes being made to clerics, I'm wondering what way Trion will go with clerics.

I recently started playing my cleric again and found that the most disturbing thing about the cleric class is the fact that healers are being punished for dedicating themselves to healing and becoming "inflexible."

One of the major issues with clerics and pure healers right now is the fact that the single most effective raid AoE healing builds rely on DoL. While I like DoL and the synergy it provides, the effectiveness of DoL over raw healing trees is absolutely absurd.

Right now there is so much AoE damage in raids, sometimes the only reason we pull through it all is because we toss more inquisicars and senticars at the problem. DoL is way more efficient and powerful than healing communion.

Herein lies the problem with dedicated healers and purist builds. A pure sentinel healer or a healer that is actually trying to use the healing trees and healing gear in order to perform their role is overshadowed by a focus stacked DoL healer.

What makes no sense is that, purist builds contribute no dps to the group, dedicated healing gear provides no focus whatsoever, yet when these clerics attempt to build for pure healing, they are completely and utterly outperformed by a DPS BASED HEALER THAT IS RELYING ON A TANKING TREE IN ORDER TO HEAL.

Does this make any sense? Purist healers sacrifice all of their DPS and have gear specifically designed for their class that has no focus due to its dedication to healing. Yet, when clerics take this path, they are punished because they fall short in comparison to the massive amount of healing a dps-based DoL healer is capable of outputting with twice the mana efficiency.