+ Reply to Thread

Thread: A question on rogues

Default A question on rogues

Just to make it clear before i start. I have preordered and will be starting beta 7 tonight. So far i have no physical playing experience
    and am merely speculating from what i have seen over the last week on the forums.

Rogues seem to be the class to go. They seem pretty devastating and versatile. They can pack a punch, emulate a support class, tank
    and AOE. With this in mind are they the superior calling?
    Is it a case that i have incorrect information?
    Is it the old jack of all trades, master of none scenario?
    Will they be beaten by a calling that focuses primarily on one of these attributes?
    Are they less likely to pull their weight in PVP?

Im asking as they do look fun to play and by mixing and matching classes you seem to be able to get some very different effects.
    Can someone clear this up for me or possibly provide some example builds of things that will counter attack certain famour rogue classes?
    Still searching for the Coffee and Sandwich Rift.

Rift Disciple

A rogue can make a very viable tank. Although it won't truly shine until later levels as it's tanking abilities rely on invested points. The bard soul is hands down the best "buffer" in the game. Excellent support. At the moment, melee rogues are lacking top tier dps, but the ranged rogues (MM/Ranger) are pretty good so far. Some nerfs incoming across the boards though.

So overall, they can be the best support class (Bard), excellent late game tanks (Riftstalker), and decent to great dps.

Hope this helps

Edit - As for versatility, they are probably the best at field optimizing for pvp. With the rift blinks, increased speed, stealth, they can go anywhere.
    Last edited by Inexist; 02-15-2011 at 05:18 AM.
    Tell you what, you remove the dps from Warriors and make them tanks only, and I'll stop being a Rogue tank. Until then, we finally have multiple roles instead of one. Get over it..