+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Maltie
  • 1 Post By TheSpacesBetween

Thread: Melee Question (Rift Noob): Stop Auto-Triggering Ranged Auto-Attack Question(s)?

Question Melee Question (Rift Noob): Stop Auto-Triggering Ranged Auto-Attack Question(s)?

Greetings and happy Fae Yule/New Year!

First, a confession: I'm a *total* noob to Rift. I've only played a little over a month, even though I bought the game in 2011, so naturally, I'm very upset with myself that I wasted seven years *not* playing Rift. In case it's relevant, my play-style is pretty simple right now. I'd like to start raiding/pvp eventually, but as I'm new to Rift, I want to take my time getting there so I do things right. Therefore until I'm more experienced, I'll be sticking to soloing/questing, open world content, some light RP (yes, I'm one of those role-players lol xP) and learning the lore and world of Telara.

But to the issue at hand. After switching my Rogue from Bladedancer/Assassin with 0-pt RS to Bladedancer/Assassin with 0-pt Ranger, I noticed that my toon automatically switches from daggers to my bow/rifle for auto-attack. This took me by surprise, as I hadn't experienced it before (i.e., from level 1-20). It also made me curious enough to spend 30 minutes searching DDG and even Google to learn more, but to no avail. And I like so I took my time lol.

These are the main questions that are driving me nuts trying to answer lol! Any help is *very* much appreciated, but thanks just for reading this even if you can't help me. Although I have only a month of experience in Telara, so far the community (both Guardian and Defiant) is one of the kindest and most generous and helpful I've ever seen. You guys sure beat weekend trade or Barrens chat on WoW.
    1. Is this behavior OK or even supposed to happen for a (primarily) melee spec?