• 1 Post By Fiskerton
  • 1 Post By OmegaDagger
  • 1 Post By Gunzip

Thread: [Help] choosing class

Soulwalker

Default [Help] choosing class

hello
    i'm new to the game
    choosing a class is very confusing in rift ..
    i'm trying to get a melee DPS which can heal himself and other party members but mainly DPS ... like Retu paladin in wow for example

so i'm looking for mainly DPS but also can tank and heal not the same efficiency of course but enough to be solo sometimes

it's not necessary but having a pet would be nice

after reading ..alot
    i came out with cleric > shaman,druid,sentinel
    but i wasn't very sure so i made this post

if you want to melee dps and heal at the same time in a group/raid setting, mage's harbinger would actually be better. But know that this game doesn't work like that. To maximize your output, you either dps or you heal, not both.

if all you want is a self-sustaining melee dps for soloing, all the classes can do that. rogue and warrior have the most choices in melee just in case you get bored.
    ~ | Fiskerton | Fiskermage | Fiskerheals | Fiskerbear | ~

I'm a homeless stray of a raider

Telaran

I am a wow newb but from what I understand the skill choices are very linear, meaning if you want dps u choose this class with these skills and thats what you get. If you then want to tank, (and your class has that option) you need to respec into the (one) tanking tree. I did play a lot of SWTOR and that is how it was. Very little choices, with very little options.

NOTE: I am not saying it is bad, just trying to explain what is different here in Rift

For Rift, AND THIS CANNOT BE STRESS ENOUGH, you do NOT choose a tank, or a dps, or a healer. You choose a class, e.g. rogue, and each class has options for almost ALL possible roles. In 3.0 all classes will have all roles, but currently it breaks down like this:

Clerics:
    MANY healing options
    1 Melee dps option
    1 Ranged dps option
    1 Tanking option

Rogues: