+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Choosing a Calling?

Soulwalker

Default Choosing a Calling?

hey, im new to Rift, I was curious on many things.

Im mostly looking at being a DPS, I would prefer to have the option between being ranged and melee so i can experince both sides on the game depending on what im doing.

I've read alot on forums etc etc seeing if any questions are already answered, where i found that all Callings are viable in their own way at soloing/DPS and other roles they have within their calling.

I was thinking about a Cleric or a Mage overall,

I overall enjoy to play DPSers which are a challange to play and learn properly, which soul oveall has more challanging souls / or a higher learning curve to them?

(I know its based on strengths/weaknesses which build a opinon on which is hardest, just wondered what peoples opinons were)

Which Callings offers the most Souls which are a challange to learn and play properly? And what is the hardest soul to overall play? (I know thats strongly opinonated on what the persons strengths and weaknesses are i was just wondering overall on what peoples opinons were on this topic).

In a case of the most complicated dps to play, pyromancer would probably win

One thing you might want to consider is the variety of dps builds each calling has:

Cleric only has 2 viable dps builds: inquisitor and shaman. That's 1 ranged and 1 melee. Overall, they have 4 dps souls.

Mage has 2-4 viable dps builds depending on who you ask: harbinger, pyromancer, necromancer and pyrochon. That's 3 ranged and 1 melee. Overall, they have 6 dps souls.

(rogues have a wider variety of dps callings both melee and ranged. warriors have less, but has 1 ranged and at least 2 melee, and the all-powerful tempagon right now)