+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 13 1 2 3 4 5 11 ... LastLast
Like Tree56Likes

Thread: Tanking - why does it remain an unpopular role?

Soulwalker

Default Tanking - why does it remain an unpopular role?

After 7 years of playing different MMOs, one thing that i have noticed in most of them is that the tank role is the least played role, and by a big margin.

I started playing Rift 2 weeks ago, and whilst i was downloading the game, i was doing my research on the classes and found out that 3 of them have the opportunity to be able to tank. I genuinely thought i would see a lot of tanks. Why? Because i thought one of the main reasons people didn't tank was because the role was tied to certain classes in other MMOs.

I was doing a zone invasion, the boss was wiping people left, right and center, and when i joined the raid group, it was because no one was tanking. People raging in the raid chat. As soon as i joined the raid, as a tank, someone in the chat said "thank goodness, a tank is here". It would seem people would rather keep dieing and raging instead of picking up a tank spec. No matter what time of day, Tank is instant queue in LFG.

So im just curious on peoples opinions as to why the tanking role still remains unpopular, even though most classes can role one on the fly.
    Last edited by Zeike; 08-16-2013 at 08:54 PM.

1. Needs special gear set (not relevant at lower levels).
    2. Poor soloing spec, in a game where people mostly solo.
    3. Main job in a group (hold aggro) is easy enough to be boring, yet very obviously screws the group if you ever fail at it. Worst of both worlds.
    4. Nearly powerless to improve the group's chances by playing better. If group is wiping, you just have to hope everyone else plays better next time. Or get better gear.
    5. Yet, if truly performing badly, cannot possibly be carried.