+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: A Cleric Confusion

Default A Cleric Confusion

So i'm somewhat new to mmo's which has given me some guestions about clerics.

1> Clerics wear cloth for int, but int is suppose to be more for mages? why is this

To be continued.

For clerics:

Int = 1 spell crit + 0.25 spell power + some mana
    Wis = 0.75 spell power + some extremely small amount of mana regen

***My numbers might be a little off, its late***

Since mana regen was nerfed pretty hard, Wis has become pretty worthless for clerics(at least for ones that are not close to the crit cap). Int has always been a better stat though because of the way clerics are designed.

If you look a a lot of the cleric dps souls, most of them have +crit damage or proc on crit abilities/passives. This means that crit actually plays a very active roll for the dps cleric. When you get +60% crit damage, or +30% dmg on your next spell after a crit, or your hardest hitting abilities can only be used after a crit... you want to crit as much as possible.

Since Int = more crit, that is why a lot of clerics use cloth gear that is better itemized for us.

Quote Originally Posted by Boromir View Post
    1> Clerics wear cloth for int,
    No they don't. Not good ones, anyway. Clerics may choose some items (rings, accessories etc) that prioritize Int because it does help crit and mana pool(as noted by the reply above) but they should be sticking with their chain armor which typically has Wis:Int:End in a 3:2:3 ratio. However, I disagree with pretty much everything else that poster is saying going along with the idea clerics should wear cloth. Mana regen nerf? I missed that memo while rocking my way to 50 on my Cleric. Wear chain.
    Last edited by Alessar; 08-23-2011 at 12:30 PM.

Prophet of Telara

Quote Originally Posted by Alessar View Post