+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Rift equivalent to WOW's Ret Pally and Shadow Priest?

Soulwalker

Default Rift equivalent to WOW's Ret Pally and Shadow Priest?

Hey Everyone, I am fairly new to Rift....so far have a mage that is Stormcaller/Elem/Dom in the mid 20's and I am having fun with that toon.

I have played WoW a long time, and my favorite classes there have been Retribution Paladin and Shadow Priest. I am a bit (understatement) overwhelmed with all of the choices in Rift....but also think the soul/calling system is awesome.

What would be similar class combinations in Rift? Ret Pally's use two-handed weapon...have some healing and buffing abilities, and they are primarily melee dps. I would assume a warrior, but then after reading some of the threads here, could see that a cleric class could be similar, as far as "feel".

Shadow Priest is a ranged spell caster, using dots, and some healing abilities as well. Again, because of the flexibility in classes, I could see either a mage or cleric could fill this as well.

Thanks!

Rift Chaser

You should probably go with a cleric, as they have builds most similar to those two classes. Ret Paladin would be a shaman/justicar mix most likely, and shadow priest some type of inquisitor build.

Rift Disciple

As poster above noted, sham/justicar, also druid is a melee DPS cleric so as pure melee those 3 go together. Justicar is a tanking soul, each has some moderate healing ability and buffs.

Inquisitor definately has a shadow priest feel to is, as does cabalist. Inq/Cab/Purifier (gives you shield, some healing) is one of the more common caster builds.