+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Warrior or Rogue for Tank/Mdps?

Soulwalker

Default Warrior or Rogue for Tank/Mdps?

I'm new to rift and I want to tank, with having the option to go melee dps for pvp. Coming from WoW, the warrior Soul seems the best traditionally for tanking, but I've heard rogues can be very good tanks in this game.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Soulwalker

Any input?

RIFT Community Ambassador Sodahelm's Avatar

Neither Rogues nor Warriors have any problem tanking any content in the game. This is true from the moment you hit level 50 through the final raid bosses.

Pick whichever most appeals to you, either in playstyle or what they offer while not tanking.

Rift Disciple

depends if you plan on raiding or not, and if you're going to be the MT or not, rogue is the best tank over all and is needed to tank greenscale, at least if you want to make it easy on yourselves rogues have much better magic damage resistance. however with the upgrades to VK, warrs arent so far behind in the magic mitigation anymore.

dps wise probably warr takes the edge there, rogues are just more gear dependant. but warrior dps is greatly due to BM's pet. so if you dont want to **** with a pet go rogue.

Soulwalker

Quote Originally Posted by Sodahelm View Post
    Neither Rogues nor Warriors have any problem tanking any content in the game. This is true from the moment you hit level 50 through the final raid bosses.

Pick whichever most appeals to you, either in playstyle or what they offer while not tanking.
    Cool, great that they are both viable. Think I might give rogue tanking a try just to see what it's like. On a side note, it's great to see you here cider I have watched so many of your WoW tankspot encounter vids

RIFT Community Ambassador Sodahelm's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by 420MySTiC View Post