Closed Thread

Thread: What does "Spell Power" do?

Soulwalker

Default What does "Spell Power" do?

I'm new to Rift and have a basic question that I haven't been able to find an answer to: How exactly does "spell power" work? The explanation says it increases damage by x per second, but what does that mean in practice?

As a specific example, suppose I have 250 spell power, which increases spell damage by 50 per second. And assume I have a 1 second global cooldown. How does that apply to:

(1) A spell with a 2 second cast time that does 150 damage normally? Does that now do 250 damage?

(2) An instant-cast spell that does 100 damage normally? I assume that the DPS for an instant cast spell is damage / (cast time + global cooldown). Does that mean that the spell now does 150 damage total?

(3) An instant cast DoT that does 120 damage over 12 seconds (10 per tick). I assume that the damage doesn't increase by 50 per tick, because that seems extremely overpowered. How is the DPS for a DoT spell calculated? Is it just total damage / (cast time + global cooldown)? Does it now do 170 damage total, or 17 per tick?

(4) If a spell has a 2 second cast time, but I use a special ability to turn it into an instant-cast spell, does that affect the total damage it does?

If you know of an existing thread (or website) that explains this, that would be great!

-Tal

1 point of Spell Power = +0.2 magical damage per second

so assume if you will not taking into effect any other stats

100dmg 1sec spell( casttime)

+500spell power will make it do
    200dmg

keep in mind GCD is not taken into consideration.

Soulwalker

But how does it apply to things like instant-cast spells and damage-over-time spells?

For example, if I have 250 spell power, and I cast an instant-cast DoT spell that normally does 120 damage over 12 seconds, how much would the damage increase?

Quote Originally Posted by Talantir View Post