+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Complete Newbie

Soulwalker

Default Complete Newbie

Hi, well, as the title says, I'm a complete noob when it comes to these games... I heard of Rift through someone and thought I'd give it a go, and i need some help with... well, everything...

I'm used to playing Ranged/Bow classes more than anything and wouldn't mind taking one again on here, but from what I see, they all seem to be somewhat despised... I'd really like a class that's relatively easy to play to start with, maybe I'll change to something more challenging later. I prefer PvE over PvP, though I've never really played PvP so I can't really compare. Basically, imagine you're trying to convince me this is a great game and I should stick with it xD

one more thing, what's DPS 0.o?

I'm speaking personally here, so this is, of course, just my opinion.

I rolled a rogue with Marksman and Ranger for awhile, and had a lot of fun with it in both PvE and PvP. It's a good non-mage ranged class, although there are a good amount of options for ranged in almost every calling.

Right now, I'm a chloromancer/warlock, and I'm having the time of my life. I can take on upwards of 5 or 6 mobs at a time, and upwards of 10-12 back to back, if my CDs are up. And PvP is a joke to me. I regularly top the damage charts, even when I'm fresh to the WF tier, and do a moderate amount of healing, as well. This although makes me a good target, and regularly top the damage received a lot, too.

Really, just try whatever you feel you'll like. Take a look at http://rift.zam.com/en/stc.html and test out different callings and builds. You'll find what suits you best. ^.^
    The very existence of flame throwers proves that some time, somewhere, someone said to themselves, 'You know, I want to set those people over there on fire, but I'm just not close enough to get the job done.'