+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Like Tree9Likes

Thread: Can't enjoy the Defiant lore, anyone else with me?

Rift Master

Default Can't enjoy the Defiant lore, anyone else with me?

I want to like the Defiant, I really do. The whole "use magic as technology" thing is pretty awesome and since I'm a software developer in real life it seems a natural fit. I've actually leveled one to 50. But I can't bring myself to sympathize with the faction one bit, because they resort to torture (at least one quest you capture a Guardian footman and torture him for information, and rather than let you torture him to death he prays to the Vigil to die), and worst of all is HOW they became Ascended. When I leveled I skipped watching what happens in the life facility in the Defiant starter area, and then one day I decided to roll an alt and look at what unfolds, and to be honest it made me sick to my stomach; I instantly deleted said alt, rolled Guardian and never looked back.

They not only murder POWs, but they steal their souls, preventing them from resting in peace after death. Even as said POWs beg for mercy (there's that book saying how Sylver experimented on some poor guy and "drowned out his screams" by thinking of how cool his creation would be), even as their ghosts wonder why they haven't moved on (one even says "I felt myself die, why haven't I moved on?"). That's worse than evil; murdering innocents is evil enough, but binding their souls like a puppet? That's as bad as anything the dragon cults do; in fact I don't recall any cults outside of the Endless Court resorting to such vile measures - mass murder sure, but besides Regulos raising the dead, those people found eternal rest after they died.