+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Like Tree14Likes

Thread: Defiant vs Guardian: What did you pick and why?

Soulwalker

Default Defiant vs Guardian: What did you pick and why?

Exactly as the title says. Did you pick your faction for itself? For the races? For the religion?

And for those of you playing both sides, which parts of each faction appeals to you? Which could you do without? How do you feel playing a Defiant or Guardian is fundamentally different (in your own mind)?

I picked Defiant.

When I started playing, I rolled one Defiant and one Guardian character.

I did not have a preference for any side - until my Guardian character found herself at Divine Landing and heard what Guardian NPCs were saying.

"How dare those cowards to defend against our army!"
    "Defiants are cowards for not standing there while our army slaughters them!"
    "Defiants destroyed bridge with our army on it! Vile, cowardly heretics!"

These NPCs did very good job of presenting Guardians as spoiled, incompetent jerks full of self-entitlement. Hazing quests at Quicksilver College didn't do any good to Guardians' image either.
    Feminism is the radical notion that women are people.

I picked Guardian, after seeing exactly how Defiant Ascended get their powers in the starting area. Ripping souls out of defeated and caged enemies while they beg for their lives? No thanks. Made me feel like a villain, and set the tone for the whole rest of the tutorial for me. And based on what I've seen in videos of quests from friends? Defiant-side does plenty of things that are along this line, and I want no part in it. >_>

Guardian-side's not perfect either, but somehow I can stomach their imperfections easier.
    Last edited by Remissus; 02-07-2012 at 09:03 AM.

Ascendant